[Msa-discuss] Call for MSA Book Prize Nominations

Laura Ann Winkiel laura.winkiel at colorado.edu
Mon Jan 8 20:48:29 EST 2018

Call for MSA Book Prize Nominations

The Modernist Studies Association seeks nominations for this year's MSA Book Prize, to be awarded to a monograph book with a printed copyright date of 2017. The prize is given each year to a work that makes a significant contribution to modernist studies. The recipient will receive $1000 plus up to $600 toward travel expenses to the 2018 MSA conference, where the award will be presented.

To nominate a book for the MSA Book Prize, please send an email to Jeremy Braddock (braddock at cornell.edu<mailto:braddock at cornell.edu>) as soon as possible and then contact the publisher to ask that they write to Professor Braddock to arrange for a copy of the nominated book be sent to each of the three committee members:

  *                           1. Jeremy Braddock, Cornell University
  *                           2. Anne Anlin Cheng, Princeton University
  *                           3. Marina MacKay, Oxford University
Please let the publisher know that books must be received by committee members no later than 15 March. Books arriving after that date may be considered for the prize but are not guaranteed consideration.
Self-nomination is strongly encouraged, as it saves a step in the process and helps assure timely receipt of books. Whether a book is nominated by the author or by someone else plays no role in the Committee's deliberations.
Please note also that books published in years other than the ones mentioned above (2017 for the MSA Book Prize) are ineligible. This exclusion applies even if a revised edition or paperback was published in 2015 or 2016.
Submissions will not be returned.

MSA First Book Prize
The Modernist Studies Association First Book Prize is awarded annually to a first book published in the previous year. A panel of judges determines the book that made the most significant contribution to modernist studies. The winner receives $1,000 plus up to $600 toward travel expenses to the MSA Conference, where the award is presented.


  *   Nominated books must be the author’s first book (not including editions, collections, or anthologies), though they need not necessarily be single-authored
  *   Nominated books must bear a copyright date of the preceding year (e.g., for the 2018 Prize, the copyright date must be 2017, regardless of when the book actually appeared). This provision applies even if a new edition (paperback or revised, for example) was published in the award year.
  *   Nominated authors need not be members of the MSA
  *   A book may be nominated only once, either for this prize or for the MSA Book Prize.
A call for nominations will be issued and posted to the MSA website once the adjudicating committee is constituted.

View this call online at https://msa.press.jhu.edu/prize/nominate.html

[cid:image001.png at 01D388B1.46328020]
Questions about our upcoming conference?                                 Contact MSA2018Columbus at gmail.com<mailto:MSA2018Columbus at gmail.com>
Questions about membership and registration?                                             Contact RWG at press.jhu.edu<mailto:RWG at press.jhu.edu>
Want to know how our email lists work?                     Visit https://msa.press.jhu.edu/members/listserv.html

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://chaos.press.jhu.edu/pipermail/msa-discuss/attachments/20180109/192d0552/attachment-0001.html 
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image001.png
Type: image/png
Size: 11003 bytes
Desc: image001.png
Url : http://chaos.press.jhu.edu/pipermail/msa-discuss/attachments/20180109/192d0552/attachment-0001.png 

More information about the Msa-discuss mailing list