[Msa-discuss] Call for MSA Book Prize Nominations

Alex Christie achris at uvic.ca
Wed Dec 16 00:52:43 EST 2015

Call for MSA Book Prize Nominations

The Modernist Studies Association seeks nominations for this year's MSA Book Prize, to be awarded to a monograph book with a printed copyright date of 2015. The prize is given each year to a work that makes a significant contribution to modernist studies. The recipient will receive $1000 plus up to $600 toward travel expenses to the 2016 MSA conference, where the award will be presented.


To nominate a book for the MSA Book Prize, please send an email to David Ayers (D.S.Ayers at kent.ac.uk <mailto:D.S.Ayers at kent.ac.uk>) as soon as possible and then contact your publisher to ask that a copy of your book be sent to each of the three committee members, at the following addresses:

1. David Ayers: School of English, University of Kent at Canterbury, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NX UK
2. Suzanne Hobson: Department of English, Queen Mary University of London, Mile End Road, London, E1 4NS UK
3. Alan Golding: Department of English, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY 40292 USA
Please let your publisher know that books must be received by committee members no later than 15 March. Books arriving after that date may be considered for the prize but are not guaranteed consideration.

Self-nomination is strongly encouraged, as it saves a step in the process and helps assure timely receipt of books. Whether a book is nominated by the author or by someone else plays no role in the Committee's deliberations.

Please note also that books published in years other than the ones mentioned above (2015 for the MSA Book Prize) are ineligible. This exclusion applies even if a revised edition or paperback was published in 2014 or 2015.

Submissions will not be returned.

NEW! MSA First Book Prize

The Modernist Studies Association is proud to announce a brand new book prize to supplement our existing MSA Book Prize and MSA Prize for an Edition, Anthology, or Collection. The new MSA First Book Prize will be awarded annually to a first book published in the previous year. A panel of judges determines the book that made the most significant contribution to modernist studies. The winner receives $1,000 plus up to $600 toward travel expenses to the MSA Conference, where the award is presented.


Nominated books must be the author’s first book (not including editions, collections, or anthologies), though they need not necessarily be single-authored
Nominated books must bear a copyright date of the preceding year (e.g., for the inaugural 2016 Prize, the copyright date must be 2015, regardless of when the book actually appeared). This provision applies even if a new edition (paperback or revised, for example) was published in the award year.
Nominated authors need not be members of the MSA
A book may be nominated only once, either for this prize or for the MSA Book Prize.
A call for nominations will be issued and posted to this page once the adjudicting committee is constituted.

View this call online at https://msa.press.jhu.edu/prize/nominate.html <https://msa.press.jhu.edu/prize/nominate.html>

Alex Christie
Doctoral Candidate in English
Webmaster, Modernist Studies Association msa.press.jhu.edu <http://msa.press.jhu.edu/>
University of Victoria
web.uvic.ca/~achris <http://web.uvic.ca/~achris>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://chaos.press.jhu.edu/pipermail/msa-discuss/attachments/20151215/3e900762/attachment-0001.html 

More information about the Msa-discuss mailing list