[Msa-discuss] Amodern 5: Harley Parker

Amodern Journal amodernjournal at gmail.com
Tue Dec 8 13:50:02 EST 2015

Announcing the launch of Amodern 5: Harley Parker
A special issue guest-edited by Gary Genosko


Amodern 5: Harley Parker

Gary Genosko

“A Clash of Spaces: Harley Parker's Reconceptualization of the Museum
as a Communication System”
Adam Lauder

“Myth and Cinematic Effect in Harley Parker and Marshall McLuhan”
R. Bruce Elder

“Present Sense and Future Amenities: Ken Coupland's Restaurant at
Rochdale College”
Robin Simpson

“Where the Youth Aren't: Harley Parker's Struggles at the Royal Ontario Museum”
Gary Genosko

“&Tondo Thoughts”
Iain Baxter&

“Transliterations, Space and Form”
Jennifer Marman and Daniel Borins


Also, please note we have recently published two Currents essays:

"UNESCO and the World-Literary System in Crisis"
Sarah Brouillette


"The Poetics of Celebsploitation: Celebrity Culture and Social Media
in Recent American Poetry"
Paul Stephens




AMODERN is a peer-reviewed, open access scholarly journal devoted to
the study of media, culture, and poetics. Its purpose is to provide a
forum for interdisciplinary conversations about the role of media and
technology in contemporary cultural practices. We are particularly
interested in those topics that normally escape scrutiny, or are
ignored or excluded for whatever reason.

The journal is distinguished by its focus on poetics as a scholarly
practice, with particular emphasis on the unruly ways that people
deploy media and technology behind, beneath, and despite their
instrumental functions. Against the grain of determinism, we hope to
attract work that bears witness to media as complex assemblages of
institutions, subjects, bodies, objects, and discourses.

Please send all submissions and queries to:
submissions at amodern.net

Founding Editors: Scott Pound and Darren Wershler
Managing Editor: Michael Nardone

Advisory Board

Johanna Drucker
Matthew Fuller
Gary Genosko
Lisa Gitelman
Alan Liu
Jerome McGann
Marjorie Perloff
Brian Rotman
Kim Sawchuk
Will Straw

Editorial Board

Jason Cam-lot
cris cheek
Jeff Derksen
Craig Dworkin
Lori Emerson
Jonathan Finn
John Maxwell
Christine Mitchell
Nick Montfort
Sianne Ngai
Bart Simon
Matt Soar
Braxton Soderman
Nicole Starosielski

More information about the Msa-discuss mailing list