[Msa-discuss] Message from the MSA President; Conference Feedback Form; MSA Book Prize.

Matt Huculak huculak at dal.ca
Mon Oct 31 11:08:31 EDT 2011

Greetings to Members of MSA!

On behalf of the Modernist Studies Association, I would like to give a huge round of virtual applause and warm thanks to Cristanne Miller, Margaret Konkol, and the 35 volunteers from the University of Buffalo for hosting an exciting and beautifully run conference. With some 720 participants, MSA XIII was the second largest conference ever, just shy of the 750 participants in Montreal in 2009.


Please fill out the conference survey form: http://msa.press.jhu.edu/cgi-bin/msa13_feedback.cgi; your feedback will help the Executive Committee and future hosts meet your needs in the future. Note as well the question about your experience submitting to Modernism/modernity.


Winner of the 2011 Modernist Studies Association Book Prize is Michael Rubenstein, for _Public Works: Infrastructure, Irish Modernism, and the Postcolonial_ (Notre Dame UP).  Honorable Mention goes to Mark Goble for _Beautiful Circuits: Modernism and the Mediated Life_ (Columbia UP). Shortlisted books include Rubén Gallo’s _Freud’s Mexico: In the Wilds of Psychoanalysis_ (MIT); Maud Ellmann’s _The Nets of Modernism: Henry James, Virginia Woolf, James Joyce, and Sigmund Freud_ (Cambridge); Matthew Hart’s _Nations of Nothing But Poetry: Modernism, Transnationalism, and Synthetic Vernacular Writing_ (Oxford); and Alison Syme’s _A Touch of Blossom: John Singer Sargent and the Queer Flora of Fin-de-Siecle Art_ (Penn State).

Congratulations to the prize-winning authors and special thanks to the hardworking MSA Prize Committee: Paul Young (chair), Enda Duffy, and Justus Nieland, who read over 60 books and essay collections published in 2010. The Prize Committee’s citations for the books are [link or below}.  Pamela Caughie will chair the 2012 MSA Prize Committee, with committee members Holly Laird and Stephen Ross. Nominations are now open for the 2012 Book Prize: http://msa.press.jhu.edu/prize/nominate.html (deadline: April 1, 2012). 

As incoming MSA President, I also want to give special thanks to the MSA Executive Committee’s dedicated outgoing members: Pamela Caughie, past MSA President (2009-2010); Rebecca Walkowitz, Chair of the Program Committee (2009-2011); and Debra Rae Cohen, Chair of the Nominations and Election Committee (2008-2011). As MSA’s President in 2010-2011, Mark Morrisson will continue on the Executive Committee for another year. Their tireless efforts on behalf of MSA have consolidated the association as a vibrant and broad-based intellectual community. We welcome newly elected members David Chinitz, Second Vice President; Victoria Rosner, Program Chair; and Adam McKible, Nominations and Elections Chair. Thanks also to Ann Ardis, who has made a smooth transition from Cassandra Laity as MSA’s co-editor of _Modernism/modernity_ and to J. Matthew Huculak, who has generously agreed to  continue as MSA’s Webmaster through 2014. Please contact Executive Committee members with your ideas and concerns about MSA!

We hope to see you all at MSA XIV in Las Vegas, October 18-21, 2012, hosted by Beth Rosenberg. The theme, suitably enough, is Modernism & Spectacle.

Best wishes,

Susan Stanford Friedman

MSA President, 2011-2012
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://chaos.press.jhu.edu/pipermail/msa-discuss/attachments/20111031/d6bf602c/attachment-0001.html 

More information about the Msa-discuss mailing list