[Msa-discuss] Reminder: MSA Book Prize Nominations Deadline is 1 April

Sean Latham sean-latham at utulsa.edu
Fri Mar 12 16:59:16 EST 2010

Call for MSA Book Prize Nominations

Deadline for receipt of nominations: 1 April 2010
Deadline for receipt of books: 3 May 2010
The Modernist Studies Association seeks nominations for this year's MSA Book
Prize, to be awarded to a book with a printed copyright date of 2009. The
prize is given each year to a book that makes a significant contribution to
modernist studies. Authors need not be members of MSA to be considered for
the prize.

The recipient will receive $1000 plus up to $500 toward travel expenses to
the 2010 MSA conference, where the award will be presented. Honorable
mentions, should the committee decide to confer them, will receive
recognition and $150 each. This year, the committee chair is Sean Latham
<mailto:sean-latham at utulsa.edu> , Past President of the MSA. The other
members are Sara Blair (University of Michigan) and Debra Rae Cohen
(University of South Carolina).


To nominate your own book, send a message to Sean Latham
<mailto:sean-latham at utulsa.edu> as soon as possible and then contact your
publisher to ask that a copy of your book be sent to each of the committee
members, at the following addresses:

Sean Latham
   Department of English
   University of Tulsa
   800 S. Tucker Dr.
   Tulsa, OK 74104

Sara Blair
   3186 Angell Hall
   Department of English
   435 South State St.
   University of Michigan
   Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1003

Debra Rae Cohen
   Department of English
   University of South Carolina
   Humanities Office Building
   Columbia, SC 29208
Please let your publisher know that books should be received by committee
members no later than 3 May.  Books arriving after that date may be
considered for the prize but are not guaranteed consideration.


To nominate someone else's book, send a message to the Prize Committee Chair
<mailto:sean-latham at utulsa.edu>  no later than Thursday, 1 April. The
Committee will then request copies of the book from the publisher. The
author need not be a member of the MSA.

Please note that self-nomination is strongly encouraged, as it saves a step
in the process and helps assure timely receipt of books. Whether a book is
nominated by the author or by someone else plays no role in the Committee's

Please note also that books must have a publication date of 2009. A book
first published in another year will not be eligible for the prize. This
exclusion applies even if 2009 saw the release of a new edition (paperback
or revised, for example) of the book in question.

Sean Latham
Professor of English
Director, Modernist Journals Project
Editor, James Joyce Quarterly
University of Tulsa

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://chaos.press.jhu.edu/pipermail/msa-discuss/attachments/20100312/b8120395/attachment.htm

More information about the Msa-discuss mailing list