[Msa-discuss] Nominations for 2008 MSA Book Prize

Sean Latham sean-latham at utulsa.edu
Thu Feb 5 11:23:13 EST 2009

(deadline for receipt of nominations: 27 April 2008; deadline for receipt of
books: 15 May)
The Modernist Studies Association seeks nominations for this year's MSA Book
Prize, to be awarded to a book with a printed copyright date of 2008.  The
prize is given each year to a book that makes a significant contribution to
modernist studies. The recipient will receive $1000 plus up to $500 toward
travel expenses to the 2008 MSA conference, where the award will be
presented.  Honorable mentions, should the committee decide to confer them,
will receive recognition and $150 each.  This year, the committee chair is
Michael Coyle, Past President of the MSA. The other members are Deborah
Parsons (University of Birmingham) and John Xiros Cooper (University of
British Columbia).
To nominate your own book, send a message to Michael Coyle
(mcoyle at mail.colgate.edu <mailto:mcoyle at mail.colgate.edu> ) as soon as
possible and then contact your publisher to ask that a copy of your book be
sent to each of the three committee members, at the following addresses:
Prof. Michael Coyle
Dept. of English
Colgate University
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
Prof. Deborah Parsons
Dept. of English
Univ. of Birmingham
Birmingham B 15 2TT
Prof. John Xiros Cooper
Dept. of English
1873 East Mall
Vancouver, British Columbia
Canada  V6T 1Z1
Please let your publisher know that books should be received by committee
members no later than 15 May.  Books arriving after that date may be
considered for the prize but are not guaranteed consideration.
To nominate someone else's book, send a message to the Prize Committee
chair, Michael Coyle (mcoyle at mail.colgate.edu
<mailto:mcoyle at mail.colgate.edu> ) by no later than Monday, 27 April. The
Committee will then request copies of the book from the publisher. The
author need not be a member of the MSA.
Please note that self-nomination is strongly encouraged, as it saves a step
in the process and helps assure timely receipt of books. Whether a book is
nominated by the author or by someone else plays no role in the Committee's
Please note also that books must have a publication date of 2008. A book
first published in another year will not be eligible for the prize. This
exclusion applies even if 2007 saw the release of a new edition (paperback
or revised, for example) of the book in question.

More information about the Msa-discuss mailing list